Diabetes forums
  • Welcome To Diabetes Forums!

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today to contribute and support the site.

Sign in to follow this  
DavG

everyday activity

DavG

Hello! I am a newbie here. Now I try to train carefully. I go for walks, I work out in the gym, I try to be more active little by little. I know that many people find it hard to be productive in the winter, and so do I. How do you cope with it and stay active? 

Dowling

I don't go overboard on exercise but then I'm 80 years old. All exercise doesn't have to be in the gym. In summer I garden and go for walks. In winter I shovel my decks and clean off my car and go for walks when the weather permits. Occasionally I go up and down my basement stairs a few times. Especially when I'm washing clothes or tending to my plants under my grow lights. Sometimes I park at the end of the parking lot when I go for groceries or shopping. That way I get a walk in while I'm doing chores. Sometimes I just put on some music and dance or ride my stationary bike. Whatever I do I try to do something active every day and it need not be the same thing every day.

Having Diabetes does not require you to go overboard with exercise. Living a good life and remaining healthy however does require you to stay active as well as help your blood glucose

Hammer

DavG, I live in a state that also gets snow, as well as lots of rain, and I also have a bad back, which makes most types of exercise difficult for me to do.  My solution was to buy a recumbent style exercise bike, and place it in my basement family room.  I pedal it every day for 60 minutes, while I watch some TV program that I recorded the day before.  I have also just listened to music when I pedaled the bike, so there are a number of things to occupy your mind while you are pedaling.

adiantum

Welcome DavG,  being active  has been a challenge to many here because of the pandemic as gyms were the first to be closed.